DIY Origami Air Fresheners w/ Coffee

Standard

Who hasn’t bought a Glade Plug-in or a little Airwick aerosol spritzer in their lifetime? Air fresheners used to be a staple on my shopping list. After all, they never seem to last that long and constantly need replacing.

However, as a big proponent of “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle,” I always hated that there was a lot of waste with store-bought air-fresheners. For example, there’s the original packaging, and that then there’s the container once the air freshener is used up.

Recently, I read a sobering article regarding all the harmful chemicals air fresheners contain, such as formaldehyde, petrochemicals, p-dichlorobenzene and aerosol pollutants. Well, that was the last straw–I vowed to come up with an eco-friendly DIY alternative. All I needed was some paper and coffee grounds!

I’ve always been a big fan of paper-folding (aka “origami”), and I’ve probably folded thousands of these “paper cups” in my lifetime–they are just so functional!  For this project, I used the 12″x12″ scrapbook paper pages available at craft stores for a decorative flair.

  1. Place paper print side down.
  2. Fold bottom corner to top corner
  3. Fold left corner to about the middle of the opposite side.
  4. Fold right corner to line up the point with the new corner made by the fold in Step 3. 
  5. Fold down the top layer over the folds.
  6. (Optional) If you want more of the patterned paper to show, you can tuck the paper you just folded down in between the layers of the top fold.
  7. Open the cup and gently push in the bottom to help the cup stay open.
  8. Admire your origami paper cup!
  9. For reinforcement, place some clear tape on the top corner.
  10. Use a hole punch to punch a hole through the paper cup (and the tape layers).
  11. Fill with about 1/4 cup of coffee grounds and hang on a hook. Mmmm, even though I don’t drink coffee anymore, I still love that aroma!

Enjoy your non-toxic air freshener! These air fresheners are so easy to make and so affordable, that I hang them everywhere. I’ve hung several of them on the inside door of the shoe closet to combat stinky shoe smells, and I have another hanging right by the front door. If they ever need to be refreshed, just give the cups a gentle toss or pour in new coffee grounds. The old coffee grounds can be used for composting or fertilizing plants, so this is a great, virtually zero-footprint home project!

Smelly odors, beware! Your days are numbered in my household!
9 responses »

  1. Brilliant! I wonder, though, if there’s a way to use something other than coffee. Cut open some tea bags, maybe?

    • Hope you get a chance to make some to enjoy them! I’m gonna make a couple more to put in my car. Especially since hardly anything else really fits in those little door compartments in the back seat of my car!

      • OMG! I missed this message. I only realised now. Rather I found it only now. I have done different versions to get rid of unwanted smells. Thanks!

Penny for your thoughts-- please leave a comment!

