Our DIY Wedding Revisited #1: Passport Invitations

Standard

passport invitations

In the spring of 2009, I “married” my husband three times! First we filed the legal paperwork to be married (it’s a very cut and dry ordeal in S. Korea), then we had a traditional Korean wedding ceremony, and lastly, we had a wedding reception in California. This series is dedicated to the last event, which was truly my DIY masterpiece. Nearly every aspect of our travel-themed wedding was a DIY project that I poured my heart into. With my fourth wedding anniversary around the corner, I’m feeling full of love and generosity! I hope you enjoy this series of DIY wedding projects!

Today’s project: “Passport” Wedding Invitations for a Travel Themed Wedding

Passports are the perfect format for a travel-themed wedding! It also gives you a lot of leeway: you don’t have to worry about traditional formalities, such has having to spell out “five o’clock in the afternoon,” or enclosing everything in an “inner envelope” and including a separate reply envelope.  Also, as many of you know, wedding invitations often end up being an unusual size which generally calls for special handling/extra postage from the Post Office.

So here’s the basics of our DIY invites:
1. I worked “backwards” in a sense.  Rather than create an invite first and then go through the agony of finding a matching envelope to fit, I bought the envelopes first so it would literally set the boundaries of my invites.  Staples sold a box of “invitation envelopes” that fit the bill: 4-3/8″ x 5-3/4″ which is basically an 8-1/2″ x 11″ piece of paper folded in quarters–easy!

2. Papers!  I got parchment paper in “celery” and “gold” for the inside pages and a pack of white metallic paper which I LOVE for the cover!  The metallic paper is made by Wausau, and it is metallic on BOTH sides, and guaranteed to print on inkjet and laser printers.

3. Binding: I bought gold metallic embroidery thread and hand-tied the passport pages together.  To keep the pages from slipping, and to make it look more like a real passport, I first cut all the corners with a rounded-corner punch.

4. Reply POSTCARDS!
I think postcards work perfectly with our travel theme, plus I didn’t have to deal with a separate envelope.  I printed these on bristol vellum paper for thickness.

Front view, rear view, and RSVP postcard

Front view, rear view, and RSVP postcard

I formatted the inside front cover like a passport information page, and the inside rear cover featured one of my favorite travel-related quotes:

“The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.”  Saint Augustine

The back cover of the passport is large decorative map stamp that I recolored green through Paint Shop Pro (our wedding colors were yellow and green).

The inner pages included information to our wedding website, a map and directions to the wedding venue, and a page with information about our traditional Korean wedding and traditional Korean wedding customs.

End result: a Passport booklet that I just loved to pieces!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Our DIY Wedding Revisited #1: Passport Invitations | Jenny Lee’s Jottings | mz jenny lee

  2. Pingback: Our DIY Wedding Revisited #3: “Postcards” Guestbook | Jenny Lee's Jottings

Penny for your thoughts-- please leave a comment!

